Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Suicide Prevention in the Criminal Justice System: Where do we go from here?

December 8, 2016 @ 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Suicide Prevention in the Criminal Justice System: Where do we go from here?

Building on the 25-year tradition of the RG Myers lecture, the Australian and New Zealand Association of Psychiatry, Psychology and Law (Victoria) Committee is proud to invite all to the second annual ANZAPPL Victoria Public Lecture.

Professor Jenny Shaw is a Professor of Forensic Psychiatry at the University of Manchester, and a Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist at Manchester Mental Health and Social Care NHS Trust. She is the Deputy Director of National Confidental Inquiry into Suicide and Homicide by people with mental health problems. The inquiry, established established 20 years ago, is a national database that provides recommendations to NHS trusts about patient safety. Professor Shaw is also the Director of the National Offender Health Research Network, with a research interest in prison mental health services. She trained in general medicine and forensic psychiatry in England and spent a year in Australia working at the James Nash House in Adelaide and the Pentridge Prison in Melbourne. She has worked in various prison settings, a criminal justice liaison service, and in a medium secure forensic mental health service.

Professor Shaw will be speaking on: Suicide Prevention in the Criminal Justice System: Where do we go from here?

Internationally, suicide rates in the criminal justice system are significantly higher than in the general population. People in contact with the criminal justice system have higher rates of all types of mental disorder and are socially disadvantaged. Contact with the criminal justice system potentially provide an opportunity for suicide prevention.This lecture will describe the work of the National Confidential Inquiry into suicide and homicide in people with mental illness and will describe “what works” in the general population. Professor Shaw will describe how we can adapt these strategies for the criminal justice system.


This is public lecture is free for all to attend. Please register to RSVP your spot and catering.

Program Outline

5.30pm: Networking drinks and canapes and Annual General Meeting for all ANZAPPL members. Attendance at this meeting will be greatly appreciated!

6.30pm: Welcome and introduction of Professor Jenny Shaw by Owen Mahoney, President, ANZAPPL (Victoria)

6.35pm: Suicide Prevention in the Criminal Justice System: Where do we go from here? (Professor Jenny Shaw)

7.30pm: Closing


Previous Lectures

1990:   Dr. Robert G Myers, Forensic Psychiatrist, Melbourne

1991:   Professor John Monahan, Professor of Law and of Psychology, University of Virginia

1992:   Dr. Steve Hucker, University of Toronto and Clarke Institute of Psychiatry

1993:   Professor Paul Mullen, Department of Psychological Medicine, Monash University

1994:   Professor Neil Jacobson, Department of Psychology, University of Washington, Seattle

1995:   Professor Marcia Neave, Faculty of Law, Monash University

1996:   Professor Theodore Blau, Clinical and Forensic Psychologist, Tampa

1997:   Professor Nathaniel McConaghy, School of Psychiatry, University of NSW

1998:   Dr. Sandra Hacker, Alfred Hospital, Melbourne; Australian Medical Association

1999:   Professor Thomas Grisso, University of Massachusetts

2000:   The Hon Justice Michael Kirby AC CMG, High Court of Australia

2001:   Professor James Ogloff, Monash University, and Forensicare

2002:   Professor Jennifer Raden, Department of Philosophy, University of Massachusetts

2003:   Professor Kevin Howells, School of Psychology, University of South Australia

2004:   Professor Robert Hare, Department of Psychology, University of British Columbia

2005:   Professor Ian Freckelton, Barrister, Melbourne

2006:   Professor Bruce Winick, University of Miami

2007:   Professor William Lindsay, University of Alberta

2008:   Professor Terry Carney, University of Sydney

2009:   Professor Gill Hague, Violence Against Women Research Group, University of Bristol

2010:   Professor Arie Freiberg, Faculty of Law, Monash University

2011:   Professor Louise Newman, Centre for Developmental Psychiatry & Psychology, Monash University

2012:   Associate Professor Devon Polaschek, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

2013:   Professor Bernadette McSherry, University of Melbourne

2014:   Professor Paul Mullen, Centre of Forensic Behavioural Science, Swinburne University of Technology

2015:   Professor Michael Daffern, Centre of Forensic Behavioural Science, Swinburne University of Technology


December 8, 2016
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,


Sir Ian Potter Auditorium
Kenneth Myer Building
Parkville, Victoria 3052 Australia